Goodbye 2011, Hello 2012

1 Jan

I view 2011 as a not so great year for me. Just a few minutes ago, I declared it as not-so-great on FB.  There. These days everything can be declared, as a Twitter tweet or Facebook status message.

But after posting it, I realized that I still have so many things to be thankful for.  Yes, 2011 is the year we lost Nanay. But there are good things that happened in that year, too. It hit me that I shouldn’t let all the bad things overshadow the good. In other words, I should view 2011 as a glass half full.

And so I am thankful.

For the gift of travel with my bestest friends.

For the glorious, glorious food we get to eat.

The random nice things we get to experience.

For unexpected free accommodations, such as this.

For Maru’s first musical theater experience, “Seussical”.

For Guns and Roses, where I had my first stint as a TV writer

The Guns and Roses team.

For new projects.

Family barbeques

Blurred family photos

And never-ending eating sprees

For Maru’s first plane ride

Conquering fear of enclosed spaces

For P45 beef stew chao long that is just so addicting

Witnessing happy unions

For birthdays

And I thank the French for coming up with French Macaroons

High school again

Idols

Reunions

Most importantly, a healthy, happy family

Now I’m looking forward to what 2012 will be.

Because despite everything, 2011 had still been kind to me.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

