Back from the rubble

15 Sep

Because I’m putting off work that needs to be done asap, I momentarily turn to my blog that badly needs updating.  I’m such a bad blogger, my last post was like what, eons ago.  So much has happened and I’ve been swamped with work and more work.  But I’m happy that the last two months have been reeeeeally good.

First, I landed a writing gig for an AVP that required travel to India and Sri Lanka.

Hurrah for free travel! But aside from traveling with Mike, the best part of this experience is meeting heroes from several parts of Asia that champion access to quality education in their countries.  More on that in another post (especially since I’m not yet done with the script!).

Second, since late January this year, I’ve been busy with projects that will hopefully fulfill my dream of writing for TV. Though I still can’t tell what the show is about, I promise that it’s gonna be a TV event that will make emotional wrecks out of people.  Chos lang, hahaha!  Seriously, I’m just too happy na umusad na kami.  And I’m lucky to be in the company of great and talented people (Riz, Gen, Reign, En, JC) who are willing to share opportunities to newbies like me.  I still have a lot to learn — as in a loooot — but the past few months have taught me immensely, it literally felt like going to school.

Another thing I’m really happy about is when last August, I was able to overcome my fear of, umm, pitching. If you had met me or knew me personally, you’d know that public speaking isn’t one of my strengths.  As in my mind always goes blank, I babble, shoot myself in the mouth and say really stupid or atrocious things most of the time.  Buti na lang I have great mentors (Thank you Sir Ricky, Sir Hen at the beautiful Riz) who served as inspiration and guiding light (wow lang).  Besides, I was really confident with the material we were pitching (Yay Ceres and Miyo!) to Ate Charo.

*Photo by Sonny Calvento

At tama si Ceres, music to our ears talaga ang salitang “approved.”

Another thing, I turned 31 last September 4.  Syet 31.  I’m officially a 30-something woman.  Taun-taon na lang gumagawa ako ng retrospective chuva about the year that was.  Pero so far, happy.  And that’s all, I thank you.

And as some sort of a birthday gift, Mike had an ambigram of our names tattooed on his left arm.

What can I say? Sweet. Flattered. Sign daw na wala nang atrasan. I love you Ga.

But what I’m really happy about is Maru.  He’s grown so much, he’s turning out to be a funny kid.  He always, always cracks me up, at kahit pagod na pagod na ako mula sa trabaho, pag-uwi ko ng madaling araw gising pa siya as though waiting for me to come home kaya we always end up playing.  He always welcomes me with his sweetest smile, the warmest hug, and the loudest, “Hi Nanay!”

Last Sunday, we took him to SM San Lazaro, which is the nearest mall to our place, just so he could walk around and play.  Mike took him to ride a motorized bike at tawa ako nang tawa nang makita kong kinikilig siya kapag nabubunggo ‘yung bike niya.

Na-amaze pa rin ako kung gaano siya ka-curious sa mga nakikita niya sa paligid.  Singkit ang mata niya, pero kapag may nakita siyang kinatutuwaan niya, nanlalaki ang mata niya at natutulala siya.  Gaya nang makita niya itong books.

Or while watching ‘Horton Hears a Who!’ which he’d already seen a gazillion times.

On my 31st year on earth, I can say I’m on the right track and I’m happy.  A little extra cash won’t hurt, pang-Full HD TV at SLR digital camera.  But really, I’m happy.

Teka, masyadong masaya itong post na ito. Parang ang perfect ng buhay, parang may…

mali.

Kidding. Now back to work.

Leave a Reply

