Bye, please come back

19 Mar

I’m so bad with goodbyes.

This morning, Maru’s yaya, Lucy, left a day earlier for her scheduled two week vacation in Samar.  There was a family emergency, she said.  Her mom got sick so she needs to be there asap.

A single mom with four kids, Lucy was supposed to leave tomorrow for her eldest son’s graduation.  Though she told me she’d be back by April 5, I still have my doubts.  We had several yayas before Lucy, and everyone left after a month or two.  Plus you know how some people are, they’d sometimes tell you they’d come back just to appease you even when they’re not planning to.

Somehow, I’m hoping that it would be different with Lucy.  She had been with us for more than six months and I saw how much she cared for my son.

Before she left, she asked me to check her bags.  I told her, no, I won’t do that.  For one, that’s demeaning.  And two, everytime I go to work I leave with her the most precious thing I could ever entrust anyone.  Magduda pa ba ako kung magnanakaw siya?

I gave Lucy her salary and some money for her return trip.  Then, weird, I wanted to hug her and beg her to please come back for Maru.  But of course I didn’t.  Naiiyak ako eh.  So I just said, “Ate, balik ka ha,” and curled up in bed.

Then the whole day whizzed by, though in chaos.  The six-month old aircon conked out, my DVD player refused to play DVDs (VCD player na lang siya), Maru cried non-stop due to stomach ache, napanis ang sinaing, I failed to attend a meeting and didn’t get to finish work that needed some time and attention.

And the next two weeks will probably be as chaotic (though Mike’s sis-in-law promised to help us out with Maru while we work).

Waaa, miss ko na si Yaya Lucy.

P.S. By the way, have I told you that Yaya Lucy looks a tad like Julia Ormond?

Julia Ormond in "Legends of the Fall"

6 Responses to “Bye, please come back”

  1. mike March 19, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Yn ang pinaka malupet sa line mo…

    “P.S. By the way, have I told you that Yaya Lucy looks a tad like Julia Ormond?”

  2. Crickette March 28, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    ha! i was remembering my favorite yaya, while reading ur blog and was really getting emotional (a bit) and then i got to the last bit… that’s a good looking yaya!

  3. MadManila April 1, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    Hi girl, this is a very common “yaya” exit. i dunno why, but they think its the easy way out. They can go AWOL this way with their last months of pay without a confrontation with the employer. I told my son’s yaya upfront prior employment if she wants out she can tell me diretsahan, if she insists going on a paid vacay. like you, i don’t expect her to come back. But so far, she has return naman to us after every vacay. But unlike Yaya Lucy, my Yaya Vi is no Julia Ormond😉

  4. Rolly Marcial April 7, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Hey there. I was blog hoppin’ through top blogs and I saw yours. Hehe. This yaya-leaves-and-puts-a-sigh-on-our-faces scenario is very reminiscent of my HS days when I still had mine. We had to turn her over to my lola’s house before I went to college cuz my mom wanted me to do things on my own. Haha.

    • rona April 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      Yes, good yayas really are part of our growing up years. And happy to say, my Yaya Lucy’s back. (“,)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Domesticated « Whatevs! - November 11, 2010

    […] Julia Ormond a.k.a. Yaya Lucy is still on vacation and Mike is super duper swamped with work, heto ang buhay […]

Leave a Reply

