New year, new home

24 Dec

Sa wakas, after so many months of planning and saving (?), we’ve finally started renovations in our soon-to-be-new home.

Actually, it’s a small house built on a small plot of land my father bought when he was still alive.  When he died when I was 17, my cousins/uncles decided to use the small amount he left to build a two-door apartment to be rented out.

But since Mike and I have been planning to finally live in one of the apartments, a renovation is in order.  The former occupants left the house in shambles, with unpaid P12k++ (now P14k++) water and P2500++ Meralco bills.  Before they left, they also failed to pay two months’ worth of rent. No, they had no deposit/downpayment.  I was a considerate landlady.  When I realized how much they left unpaid, I was really heartbroken.

But I feel better now about the house, especially since renovations have already started the other day.  Upon inspecting it again last Tuesday, we realized how small the total floor area is, it’ll be like living in a two-story condo unit.  So we have to maximize every space.

Yesterday, we started buying materials such as plyboards, nails, paint, etc.  We decided on a matte white finish since it’ll go best with our old-new Batibot chairs.  We got the chairs last year from one of those furniture shops along Avenida, near LRT1’s Abad Santos station, for P700 each.

PHOTO SOURCE

I’ve been checking Daphne Oseña-Paez’s blog and somehow I’ve been getting ideas from her own house and her sister-in-law’s NY apartment.  I love her sister-in-law’s banyo, and I wonder how we can transform our own bathroom to look ultra-chic with our ultra-limited budget.  Before the renovations began, I’ve also been checking out the home sections of department stores/168 and already bought a faucet, a shower head, and a holder for bath essentials.  I got this holder from SM for only P249.75.   Cute di ba?

The stairs also need to be replaced and repositioned while the dividers on the second floor had to be torn down.  We’re focused on getting the basics done for now, but we have so many plans for the house, we need to save/earn more if we want everything done by the time we’d like to move in.  Grabe, I’m excited.

6 Responses to “New year, new home”

  1. Teta December 24, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    Wow! Good for you Ron! I’m proud of you! It’s a step for Maru too!

    • rona December 24, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

      yes, I’m super excited! Thanks!

  2. G.B. Sacramento December 24, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    So Rona where did you plan to put those Garden stuff you’ve bought? Maybe “pareng” sharon magante can help you with that coz i he’s in volved a company frocusing on interior. Goodluck and always have fun in your new plot. Merry Christmas!

    • rona December 24, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

      Haha, which “stuff” are you referring to? The bathroom caddy? The white one is a bathroom caddy, lalagyan ng bath essentials. Wala kaming garden, hehehe. Dream ko un, though.

    • rona December 24, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

      By the way, have a happy christmas!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Help me build my humble abode « Whatevs! - December 29, 2009

    […] you may have known, we’re in the middle of turning an old house into our new home.  Exciting and fun, I know.  We were initially targeting the first week of January for our move […]

Leave a Reply

