Rawr!

3 Nov

Oh, I thought I’d never get out of Manila again. Ever since the typhoons, I’ve been trying to stay home most of the time to spend time with family and loved ones. Haha! OA I know.

But yesterday, my family and I (minus Mike, because he had to work, corny) went to the Zoobic Safari inside Subic.

We took the SCTEX (Subic-Clark-Tarlac Exit) on our way there and to me it was the best highway I’ve ever passed through in the Philippines. I was so amazed, ang ganda ng daan — clean and malawak. May kamahalan lang ang toll fee kaya konti lang ang dumadaan.

11022009(014)

11022009(023)

We arrived at Zoobic before lunchtime (after several stopovers to eat, siyempre) and immediately started the tour.

11022009(027)

11022009(029)

A bit disappointed though since I thought we’ll get to experience everything Safari style.  But then again, hello Rona, for P500 you’re expecting too much.  Still, from time to time you’ll encounter pigs and other animals roaming the place, such as this one. No, I don’t know what it is.

11022009(034)

It looks like a hairy donkey.  Sorry nakatalikod sya in this pic.

The highlight of the tour, of course, is the close encounter with the Tigers.  Everyone gets to ride in one of these caged jeepneys before entering a huge fenced area.

11022009(035)

If you want the tigers to come close to you, you need to pay P200 so that the caretaker, who joins you in your jeep, can feed them chicken.

11022009(037)

11022009(038)

The tigers were so huge, at hindi sila mukhang gutom unlike in the Manila Zoo.  And look at the fangs!

The manong who came with us also threw chicken on the roof of our jeep.  And in one swooping motion, the tiger was on our roof to get his prize.

11022009(047)

That’s when I knew that I will never survive a tiger attack.  Kaya dito na lang ako, with the friendly ostriches.

11022009(054)

Since I was carrying Maru almost all throughout the tour, ako naman yata ang nabinat. I’ve totally lost my voice and is feeling a bit feverish. Plus every part of my body aches!  But I think Maru had fun though.

11022009(049)

 

 

6 Responses to “Rawr!”

  1. Mike November 3, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    oo nga sa hitsura ng ponchong ko o, mukha ngang nageenjoy… hehehe

  2. MadManila November 3, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

    Bakit mukhang kinalbo yung Ostrich?🙂 Nice to see Maru doing well🙂

    • rona November 4, 2009 at 12:09 am #

      Oo nga eh. Mukhang na-pluck ung balahibo.

  3. kirsty November 5, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    looks like you had lots of fun! the pic with the emu????? some kind of large bird – made me giggle x

  4. kat November 15, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    hehe the animals looks so cool.. looks like u and your family enjoyed the trip. take care. wana link exchange? i’ll link you in my blog.

    • rona November 15, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

      Sure🙂

Leave a Reply

