BB Gandanghari barred from entering Aruba Bar

25 Apr

I just read from BB Gandanghari’s blog that she’s been barred from entering Aruba Bar & Restaurant early this evening (April 24) last April 23 for “crossdressing.”  She wrote:

I was all set to watch Rannie Raymundo’s show in Metrowalk. Dee and my assistant Sass were with me. I didn’t know where exactly in Metrowalk the show would be. So while I was on my way, I texted Maegan, who would also be watching with us. She told me that it was going to be in Aruba Bar & Restaurant. Upon hearing that it was going to be there, Sass brought up the unfortunate incident Inday Garutay experienced there. I heard it before but I didn’t know that it happened there. Feeling worried, I requested Sass to ask Aruba Bar & Restaurant whether they have any problem with me watching the show.

Sass talked to the bouncer of Aruba Bar & Restaurant but she was then referred to the manager. She asked Sass: “What she is wearing?” Sass told her that I was wearing what every woman wears. The manager then iterated the blatant “No Crossdressing” policy hanging on their door. Sass refused to accept her reasoning. The manager then offered to consult the owner of the bar. The manager returned and gave a compromise: We can stay outside of Aruba Bar & Restaurant. Sass left and narrated what she was told. We left Metrowalk and transferred into a bar that understands that bigotry is not a sound business strategy.

Que horror! The height of bigotry and discrimation!  BB was right when she wrote that she was not there to demand special treatment from the bar.  She was, like everybody else, a customer and a spectator of Rannie Raymundo’s show.  It is not right for a bar, or for any establishment or institution for that matter, to impose conformity on anyone.  That’s just so archaic and so, well, third world!

Leave a Reply

